Depression…..

I make a point never to read those neatly folded leaflets that are included with my medication each month. They are truly awful and if I did take the time to read them I’d never let the medication pass my lips…

So why, when it comes to the Internet, do I allow myself to do ‘tests’ on all manner of ailments? Last week it was depression. I’ve been feeling tired, sluggish, moody etc., for a while now. I’ve been putting it down to the pain I’m in and have tried to ignore the problems.

That was until I came across the simple test. All I had to do was answer a few questions and in a matter of minutes I would have a diagnosis. I ticked a few boxes and voila! I had my results.

Apparently I’m severely depressed, possibly with a side order of bi-polar or even schizophrenia. That’s some diagnosis! I expected something like ‘You’re exhausted – take a holiday’. But schizophrenia? Bi-polar disorder? You’ve got to be kidding me! I don’t recall mentioning anything about hearing voices, manic mood swings, or anything else remotely unusual.

If I was a weaker person with a tendency to panic, I would be panicking now! Luckily I’m a sane, rational being (despite what the test says….), who doesn’t take these things too seriously.

Tomorrow I’m going to get some multi vitamins, lots of fruit & veg, and a large bin bag to toss the remaining chocolates and biscuits in! A couple of weeks of healthy eating will sort me out 🙂

The Internet medicinal sites will be getting the same treatment as the leaflets from now on. I’m going to ignore them

 

image.

