Dinners in the freezer…..

I have a freezer. Now, I know this may not be a big thing to a lot of people, but to me it’s massive.  This is because I don’t ‘do’ frozen meals (as anyone who’s read the ‘about me’ page will know). Well, I didn’t do frozen meals. Until now.

It all started when my Mum and Dad popped over one Saturday morning. “We’ve just been to the market.” announces Mum. Not that this in itself is anything special. No. What was special, amazing and not to be lived without, apparently, was the new man at the market.

As I was wondering what lovely man would think about this new man who I just had to have in my life, Dad explained that this man sold frozen food. Hmmmm. I wasn’t immediately sold. I like to buy my fresh meat from Waitrose and throw it and all the other ingredients in my slow cooker, then I don’t need to worry about it while I’m working.

But Mum was insistent – “Ooh, his pies are lovely!”, “His fudge cake is amazing!”. You get the idea. It was when she said “His lemon cake is even nicer than mine” that my ears tuned in. My Mum does make a lovely lemon cake – even if she does say so herself.

So I asked them if he did a list of the things he sold and the following week they duly dropped off a very faint photocopied list of products and prices. I looked through it, dismissing the cakes and pudding section because if its in the house, I’ll eat it. 😉 I noticed a part that said ‘Christmas Day’, and had listed things like pigs in blankets, stuffing, roast potatoes and such like. As Mum had said that all of his products were good I thought I would give it a try. I gave Mum £15 and asked her to pick me up some dinner type things and 1 each of the stuffing, roasties and mini toad in the holes.

She came back with a veritable van load of food! From the roast potatoes to the stew and separate dumplings and I have to say after trying it I was impressed. It was all branded, although in clear bags rather than the ‘official’ bags.

Now I have to admit that I haven’t been back to the man at the market. It’s such a long way to go and the weather has been so bad that its seemed an awful lot of trouble just for some frozen food. I am also still finding it a little hard to come to terms with giving the kids processed food and loads of E numbers. But I do have to admit that it’s very handy with teenagers in the house. They always seem to be coming and going – Stroppy 1 coming in from 6th form and going out to work, volunteering etc. And Stroppy 2 coming down for food then going back upstairs again….. 😉

So when wandering around Waitrose now, I don’t whizz straight past the frozen aisle. I stop, grab some quick and easy meals for one, then carry on with the rest of my shopping. I don’t think it will change the way we eat as a family forever. But it’s going to make these teenage “Muuuuum! There’s nothing decent to eat!!!” years so much easier.

image

