Stroppy 1 is being, well…..stroppy.

Stroppy 1 has a natural gift. She is incredibly fortunate to be one of those people who can read a book and just ‘gets’ it. This has meant that throughout her school years she has been able to sail happily along, getting good grades while friends had to study hard in order to keep up. She did her maths A level a year early and passed well, so I was incredibly proud of her.

Now though, it’s like having a different child living here. She used to be helpful around the house, good at timekeeping & dreamt of being a maths teacher. From 7 or 8 years old she has said that teaching kids is the only thing she wants to do.

All that’s changed now. She seems to have come straight out of the ‘Kevin & Perry’ mould. She’s moody, miserable, lazy, unclean and adamant she isn’t going to University. I’ve explained to her that she isn’t going to sit around doing nothing and should she leave school with no plans, then she needs to find a job. She grunted at me, so I guess that means she heard me….. 😦

I don’t mind that she isn’t going to Uni. What I am sad about is the waste of talent. I try to explain to her how I feel, but she ignores me. Of course I know it’s her life and I’m happy as long as she’s happy. But she isn’t. She has sad eyes. I’m worried that she’s pressed the self destruct button and now doesn’t know how to stop it.

Take this morning as an example. School (6th Form) starts at 8.30am. I got up at 6.30 and went in to wake the girls. Stroppy 3 grunted but didn’t get up. I called her at 6.45, 7, 7.15 & 7.30 before finally giving up and taking Stroppy 3 to school. I did a bit of shopping before coming home, so got in at around 10am. She was still at home. Still in her bedroom. Still sullen and still defiant.

I was annoyed. Bloody annoyed. I told her in no uncertain terms that she was to get her arse to school that instant. This was met by some clever remark and had I been in the same room as her I would probably have reacted, but fortunately I was downstairs and able to control my temper. I told her if she didn’t go to school she wasn’t going out tonight to be a ‘youth leader’ at a local club. That got her up! I was so furious that I didn’t say goodbye as she left, but I did remember to tell her to make sure she came home to have a decent meal and a bath before she went out again.

She came home as I’d asked. She was a little late because she’d helped an old lady to her house with her shopping. You see what I mean when I say it’s a waste? She’s such a lovely girl, but feels the need to hide it under black clothes and a lesbian label. She had her dinner and chatted away until it was time to go out, then skipped out of the door as if she’d completely forgotten about the events of this morning.

She didn’t bath though……

image

2 thoughts on “Stroppy 1 is being, well…..stroppy.

  1. I hope you and your daughter get through this stage soon, partly because I’ve got all this to come and I’d like to know there’s a light at the end of the tunnel :o)

    I know when I went through my angry teenage hormonal ranty stage I was a very unhappy person, I was going through some stuff I couldn’t talk to my mum about because I was embarrassed and ashamed and couldn’t face her knowing about it so I reacted by shutting her out and behaving like a little bitch. If it’s possible your daughter is going through the same sort of thing then maybe there’s someone else she can talk to? A friend or family member? Even arrange for her to see a counsellor?

    I hope this helps and good luck to you x

    • I’m sure there is light at the end of the tunnel – it’s just a long road to get there at the moment. She has seen a counsellor and it helped a little I think.
      I get the feeling that as her friends are goths, the moody, sullen, angst ridden persona sort of comes with the territory. It seems like when we are away from home, on holiday for example – she is a different person altogether.
      I’m sure she’ll work through it and I do hope she will be able to talk to me about it in the future. I just want to give her a hug and tell her everything will be alright.
      As I say, she’s a lovely girl and that lovely girl is still in there somewhere. It’s just getting to her that I’m finding hard…
      Thanks for commenting. It’s nice to know that people care enough to talk about it. 🙂

Comments are closed.