A stay at home mum – free from stress?

As some of you may know, I was made redundant at the end of January. I didn’t really see it coming as I’d been promised a new contract but when it came to the crunch it wasn’t forthcoming.

So that was that. After many years working for a Company and virtually single-handedly building up the business in Europe, I was no longer needed. I was obsolete.

The main reason for this was that I hadn’t used the product, and the US arm that pretends to be soooo family friendly, only employ people who have used the product on their babies. So not quite so friendly to my family, eh?

This is the model they now want to use here, although I’m not sure how well this will sit with our discrimination laws….

Anyway, going from ‘Eco savvy social media manager’ to stay at home mum has been a surprisingly hard change. Surprising because I actually worked from home, so thought I would just slip into baking bread, tidying, making dinner – in fact, all the things I had done previously. Just without the working bit.

In reality it has come as a huge culture shock. I’ve felt run down and sluggish for weeks. I’ve slept a lot. Perhaps it’s my bodies way of catching up on all the missed sleep that I lost from worrying about how to best promote said Company. You live and learn I guess.

I think I’m slowly coming out of the doldrums now though. I got up this morning and was fed up with pulling on jeans or leggings with a loose top and Uggs. I decided to get dressed up. As I put on the nice dress, I also put on something else. It was like a layer of confidence was sitting just below the dress – something I haven’t felt since leaving work. I felt good.

And I’m now enjoying being a ‘stay at home mum’. I was here in body while working, but not in mind. If Stroppy 3 asked for help with homework I’d often be too busy working and put her off with a “Give me 5 minutes honey”. 5 minutes would inevitably stretch to 25. I don’t have that problem now. I don’t have to cook dinner while on a conference call to the States. The kids aren’t told to “Shhhh” because someone is calling me about nappies.

I had originally planned to begin an online baby shop and stock all the lovely organic products that our mums were asking us to stock but that we couldn’t because the Company only have their own products on their site. But that’s on hold for the foreseeable future.

I feel free. I feel de-stressed. I can go out for coffee or lunch with my friends without constantly checking my phone for missed calls or emails. My shoulders aren’t tense any more – even when the Stroppys decide to play up! 😉

So, I was all dressed up. But now I’m home from the school run, I have my onesie on (yes, I have one!), and I’m about to pop the garlic bread and spaghetti on to cook. Without worrying about the phone ringing….

 

image

