Birthdays

So, Stroppy 2 is now 17 which means I technically have twins until Stroppy 1 turns 18 tomorrow.

As you may know from earlier posts, all of my children have April birthdays. Which means that while this time of year is extraordinarily expensive, I don’t have to worry about cards and gifts again until Christmas.

Stroppy 2 had a nice, fairly quiet birthday. We opened his gifts in the morning and he spent the rest of the day in his new designer ‘onesie’. 🙂 Friends and relatives came and went with cards and gifts – this meant him actually coming downstairs and leaving his room for some time during the day. This is usually unheard of, but he seemed to be in a good mood and we got through quite a lot of his humongous triple layer chocolate cake…

Every other year we have had a family tea on each birthday, but the older two weren’t too keen this year. I have to say it was much less stressful than previous years! I had no worrying about preparing food, drink, etc. and that made a nice change. So nice in fact that I’m considering not even doing one for Stroppy 3’s birthday….

Stroppy 1 is a different matter. She’s 18 tomorrow and although she doesn’t want a family tea, she IS having an 18th party. At home….

I think I’m fairly prepared. I’ve bought all the food ready for cooking tomorrow morning. The cakes are bought – I got her the requested Hello Kitty one, then realised we would need one to cut when family come round so managed to find a white chocolate indulgence cake that looks amazing! It even has gold dusted white chocolate maltesers on it. VERY cool.

I’ve made the vodka jelly shots (recipe below 😉 ), bought bottled lager, cider, and alcopops in various flavours. After discussing it with lovely man, I decided NOT to buy spirits. I have bought a couple of smaller bottles of Cactus Jacks. It’s a modern schnapps and at 15% volume is by far the strongest drink that will be at the party. This is what will be going in the test tubes…

You see, I want her and her friends to have fun. I want them to go away saying what a great 18th it was, with drinking games and test tubes to take ‘shots’ from. I don’t want them getting ill while under my supervision. I sometimes feel that I’m being too sensible. After all, they are all 18 or over so perfectly within their rights to get paralytic if they so choose. But they’ll be at my house, so I feel more obligated to keep them safe than if they were at a pub or club.

She has a lovely surprise coming, by way of the decoration for her party. She asked for the Hello Kitty cake. My 18-year-old GOTH. So her party is pink, with bunting, cupcakes, mini vintage looking cream soda bottles with pink straws, and a sweet buffet. Oh, and a chocolate fountain – for ME. I have fire-retardant bags that will go in the drive after dark to flicker the 18’s that have been punched in the sides of them. They are hard to describe but do look lovely 🙂

I do hope she likes it. I think she’s secretly hoping for a ‘pretty’ party. Although she’s a goth and doesn’t wear girls clothes at all, I think she wears all the black to fit in. Anyway that’s another post for another day…

I’ll let you know how it goes – wish me luck! 😉

VODKA JELLY SHOTS

Pop one pack of jelly cubes in a measuring bowl with approximately 250ml of boiling water. Give it a stir then pop in the microwave for 1 minute.

Take out and stir until dissolve then leave to cool. This is THE most important part as if it’s still hot the alcohol will evaporate when mixed in.

Once it’s cooled add another 200ml of cold water and 200ml of vodka, pour into plastic shot glasses and place in the fridge to set.

That’s it! This recipe has less fluid than if making a normal jelly, but this is to make them set so don’t be tempted to add more.

Enjoy! 🙂

image

image

image

